Who We Are

CNCS is the nation's largest grantmaker for service and volunteering, and thereby plays a vital role in strengthening the nonprofit sector and addressing the most critical community needs. Our programs harnesses the energy and talent of America's citizens to improve education, veterans and military family services, conservation, and economic opportunity. 

Our Mission

To improve lives, strengthen communities, and foster civic engagement through service and volunteering.

Guiding Principles

  • Put local communities need first.
  • Strengthen the public-private partnerships that underpin all of our programs.
  • Use our programs to build stronger, more efficient, and more sustainable community networks, capable of mobilizing volunteers to address local needs, including disaster preparedness and response.
  • Measure and continually improve our programs' benefits to service beneficiaries, participants, community organizations, and our national culture of service.
  • Build collaborations across our programs and with other federal programs.
  • Help rural and economically-distressed communities obtain access to public and private resources.
  • Support diverse organizations, including faith-based and other community organizations, minority colleges, and disability organizations.
  • Implement service learning to enrich service experiences and stimulate life-long civic engagement.
  • Support continued civic engagement, leadership, and public service careers for our programs' participants and community volunteers.
  • Exhibit excellence in management and customer service.

Agency Vision

CNCS as:

  • a cooperative and creative force for service in America.
  • a valuable resource to—and a partner with—national, state, and local organizations that encourage community service and address community needs.
  • entrepreneurial, innovative, effective, and efficient in utilizing its resources, influence, and activities.
  • an agency with a demonstrated history of nonpartisanship.
  • a good steward of taxpayer dollars that operates programs in a cost-effective manner.

Management and Organization

The Board of Directors and Chief Executive Officer are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. The Chief Executive Officer oversees the agency, which includes about 700 employees operating throughout the United States and its territories.

The Board of Directors sets policies and direction for CNCS and is responsible for all actions taken by the Chief Executive Officer with respect to standards, policies, procedures, programs and initiatives as are necessary to carry out the mission of CNCS.

The AmeriCorps NCCC Advisory Board advises the director and staff on policy and programs; assists in developing a long-term strategy; facilitates the pooling of national, state, and local resources; reviews program progress and direction; and assists in evaluating the program.

State Service Commissions



Want to Learn More About CNCS?

Sign Up Here


Back to Top